Service BMG

deutsch english русский



The concept of SERVICE derives from the Greek word diakonia and originally meant “to serve at table” and “to care for someone.” In one word, diakonia expresses a way of life: we are meant to be there for others and to help our fellow human beings. In this way we follow Jesus Christ. In the Berlin Mennonite Congregation, we try to give to everyone the attention that they need and to support people when they are in need of assistance.

Driving Service and Birthday Greetings

We have elected several women from our congregation as Deacon(esse)s. They take special care to think of others, arranging visits and organizing a driving service. In addition each member receives a personal birthday card on his or her birthday.

International Aid and Development

We work through the Mennonite Assistance Agency (Mennonitische Hilfswerk – MH) to aid people in other parts of the world. MH accompanies various projects and maintains many connections to other relief and development agencies in order to help people in need around the world. Along with other Protestant churches we also belong the Protestant agencies for Service and Development, Bread for the World (Brot für die Welt) and Disaster Service Assistance (Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe).

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.
Galatians 6:2

Diakonie BMG

deutsch english русский



Der Begriff DIAKONIE kommt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet ursprünglich „bei Tisch dienen“ und „fürsorgend jemandem helfen“. Mit Diakonie wird in einem Wort eine ganze Haltung zusammengefasst: wir sind dazu bestimmt, für andere da zu sein und anderen Menschen zu helfen. Jesus Christus ist darin unser Vorbild. In der Berliner Mennoniten-Gemeinde versuchen wir, allen Menschen die Aufmerksamkeit zu geben, die sie brauchen, und Menschen dort zu unterstützen, wo sie Hilfe benötigen.

Fahrdienst und Geburtstagsgrüße

Wir haben einige Menschen aus unserer Gemeinde zu DiakonInnen gewählt. Sie denken in besonderer Weise an andere, sie machen Besuche und organisieren Fahrdienste. Außerdem bekommen alle Gemeindeglieder zum Geburtstag eine persönliche Karte.

Hilfe im Ausland

Durch das Mennonitische Hilfswerk (MH) tun wir etwas für Menschen in anderen Regionen der Welt. Das MH betreut unterschiedliche Projekte und unterhält zahlreiche Verbindungen zu anderen Hilfsorganisationen, um weltweit Menschen in Not zu helfen. Mit anderen evangelischen Kirchen gehören wir außerdem zu den Trägern des Evangelischen Werkes für Diakonie und Entwicklung, Brot für die Welt und Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe.

Einer trage des Anderen Last! Auf diese Weise werdet ihr das Gesetz Christi erfülllen.
Galater 6,2